Fools Gold

Lord I’d pick up the pieces but they’re scattered far and wide

I don’t think I could find them all even if I tried

Some ain’t worth the finding but they’re the ones I’ll see

Seems the ones that count the least appeal the most to me

Fools gold I reckon, sparkling in the sun shining like it’s special

causing me to run and pick up worthless pieces to patch my tattered self

Lord ain’t no doubt about it I sure could use your help

to sort through all this rubble and find what should be saved

then toss what’s surely sending me to an early grave

Shallow consolations them gold retirement pins

Pay day to pay day delays delay again the things that I would rather do

a chance to spend with friends

special moments with my wife

or time with our children

Life gets away too quick it seems and one day

all these scattered dreams swept together won’t redeem the

moments that just slipped like sand through these busy hands

From these pieces scattered here a life just may be found

but Lord please do the finding

cause there’s fool gold around

 

jrw’93

 

Jay’s space

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fools Gold

  1. n says:

    Hi , this is beautiful, so heartwarming, I only wish I could write like this, but I can\’t write poetry at all, I can only tell stories.  But this is talent, have a great evening,  Venus

  2. Rambling says:

    I believe we have a great deal in common..a great deal.  What a pleasure to find your blog this evening and glad to be of service with the zipcode url.  A fellow Christian (and cat person) 🙂

  3. Beth says:

    Very well written.  Thank you!

  4. vallerie says:

    THE STORY OF THE GREAT CRETINOUS THOTMAN OR RUSS  SCHNEIDER
    Once upon a time in a little town somewhere in Utah lived a footling unknown huckster, lost in the sea of his inconsequentiality, having all the complexes of his inferiority and nescience hating the whole world for all the failures of his life very accustomed and common for the little towns people.
    He liked to imagine that he is strong powerful like the pathetic prophets of his miserable religion (you see he is a mormon) that he will “vaporize” the Iranians he will destroy the international terrorism he liked to imagine “the adventures of Thotman” Europe trips heroism and in the end in his poor mind, imagination and reality are conflated.
    The great idiot lived this way for years and years in his little unknown town with his dreams and his “adventures” in his cloudy mind waiting for the miracle of the transformation from a frog to a prince looking the cars in the central road traveling always without him.
    And Microsoft one blessed moment, actualized all his dreams.  
    WINDOWS LIVE SPACES.
    The great idiot in his sick brain contemplated: REVANCHE IS MINE, NOW I HAVE A VOICE.
    I will clamp Joseph Smith and Brigham Young (his prophets)to  the whole world as spiritual leaders I will write masterpieces of literature and philosophy  I will destroy the evil from this planet, I will TEACHE everyone the TRUTH I will build the promised Zion for my people.
    The key found the lock.
    The idiot is promoted now is a real dangerous lunatic.
    Please don’t laugh with him stranger.
    Just think for a moment (in his space or his grave now it’s the same for him) that the combination of religious fanaticism and ignorance illiteracy and audacity guided this man to this situation.
    Give your sorrow to him stranger.
     

  5. Unknown says:

    qswd013 wow gold wow power leveling oofay.us wowmine 隔膜泵 隔膜泵 隔膜泵 磁力泵 磁力泵 磁力泵 油泵 油泵 油泵 上海展览公司 上海展览公司 上海展览公司 阀门 阀门 阀门 空调 空调 空调 胶体磨 胶体磨 胶体磨 Cosmetic surgery Cosmetic surgery 菲律宾留学 菲律宾留学 菲律宾留学 东方医院 东方医院 东方医院 隔膜泵 油泵 上海展览公司 阀门 磁力泵 qswd00

  6. Thot says:

    The poster "exmormon" is in fact a GREEK blogger who stalks women by the name of Elytis..he is an idiot and anyone who outs him is subjected to what he perceives are insults.  The many women who have been threatened, abused, stalked and harrassed is growing by the month.  When someone who is unafraid of his insane behavior shines a light on him he attempts to intimidate them..I am not intimidated by such scum, so he finds anyone I might know and procedes to copy this comment on all their blogs.  Those who know me find his desparation indicative of his total lack of intelligence or class.  I have seen that  when an old gray haired greek guy with longer hair growing from his nose than from his head starts to feel insecure,  he can create some pretty strange fiction.  You would do yourself a great favor if you eliminated him from any participation on your blog.   In the mean time warn any women who may be taken in by his cut and paste poetry that ultimately his goal is to expose his genitals to her via his computers camera…

  7. Thot says:

    The poster "exmormon" is in fact a GREEK blogger who stalks women ..His blog name is  Elytis..he is an idiot and anyone who outs him is subjected to what he perceives are insults…much like those below.  The number of women who have been threatened, abused, stalked and harrassed is growing by the month.  When someone who is unafraid of his insane behavior shines a light on him, he hides like a cockroach as he attempts to intimidate them..I am not intimidated by such scum, so he finds anyone I might know and procedes to copy this comment on all their blogs.  Those who know me find his desparation indicative of his total lack of intelligence or class.  I have seen that  when an old gray haired greek guy with longer hair growing from his nose than from his head starts to feel insecure,  he can create some pretty strange fiction.  You would do yourself a great favor if you eliminated him from any participation on your blog.   In the mean time, warn any women who may be taken in by his cut and paste poetry, that ultimately his goal is to expose his genitals to her via his computers camera… (previous comment edited)

  8. andrew says:

    nice poem a pleasure to read..drew

Leave a Reply

