Blues

 

It’s not an unusual thing this time of year. Call it what you will. A gooey, bluesy funk has fallen over me. I’m stuck in a melancholic muck. Too much turkey. Color overload. Winter dread. I don’t know. Just look on the brighter side! Ok that’s easy, let’s see, uh well, uh yes, uh, where did I file that?

I really don’t know where it all began, where its root lies but, it sprouts every year about this time. The leaves begin falling and so does my altitude. Yes altitude. Now, attitude can be inserted there but, certainly altitude is the first to slip. Buoyancy is lost and I find myself sinking into the blahs. It couldn’t come at a worst time of year. Grinch, Scurge, party pooper pretty much sum it up. But, does it really?

Even if there was no collective, commercially stroked, orgasmic yahoo in December, would I still be sliding down this slippery slope? And, even if the tax man didn’t dust off his shingle before the new year babe burps, would I still be stuck in this muck? I just don’t know. I don’t have the answers. It’s just a seasonal thing. But is it really?

The beauty and freshness of spring is barely sprung before the oppressive heat of a Georgia July is smothering you and soaking your fruit of the looms by noon. And then comes Autumn. Where has it gone? It must be a seasonal thing. Seasons are meant to come and go and to everything there is a season. Well that settles it. It’s definitely a seasonal thing and so, this funk too shall pass but, when? Until the last leaf flies from the black jack oak and skips across the lawn. The ground hog speaks, the crocus peeps and the robin tunes her song. 

Oh good grief, you gotta be kidding.

to be continued

 

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Bits and pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blues

  1. Beth says:

    I feel the same way this time of year.  I like the spring and the fall; I hate the heat of summer and I have gotten to the point where the thought of ice and snow petrifies me.  Georgia in the summertime must be unbearably hot but aren\’t the winters pretty mild?  Yes, all of the ho, ho, ho\’s are somewhat depressing too.

  2. Rambling says:

    I like Spring and Fall best…summer then, and Winter when the days aren\’t gloomy.  If it\’s cold and sunny, OK.  Cold and dreary..not so much.  You seem to have SAD.  My youngest son does.  I am trying to get him to just go on and do the light box therapy.  It works.  OR you could come on to TN and help me rake the acres (just seems that way) of leaves.

Leave a Reply

