1986

I experienced single parenting for a short time; 12 months, 28 days, 4 hours and 23 mins. My son was 2 yrs and my daughter was 7. Tom cat, Johnson, was about 3. He had no idea what I was going through. He would disappear for days then show up looking like the last one to leave the party. That cat never lifted a claw to help. The soon to be X, aka Disney mom, was out catin’ about too, she wasn’t much help either. Guilt motivated help often constructs a fantasy land. Do I hear democrat in there somewhere.  Oh well, that’s a wholenuther story or two. Anyway, animal husbandry and single parent household wasn’t too much of problem with Johnson ’cause he just ate and slept until he got ready to prowl again. He was a pretty independent ole cuss or he would have never made it. I’m surprised the kids made it, let alone the cat.  He went on, so did I, so did Disney mom and so did my kids. We all got scared up a little. That was the week of Thanksgiving 1986. I have alot to be thankful for. The next year I met a Tennessee gal, aka Sweet’taters, that became my second wife. She helped me raise my kids, I helped with her two; girl 11 and boy 14. We are a blended family that beat the odds. We’re still married today. The kids are grown and gone. We have grandkids, that visit!! Good to see ’em come and go! We had pets while the kids were growing up but no time to enjoy them. Imagine that. Now we’ve given a home to two of our oldest son’s pets. He did give us a choice, dog & cat or three rug runners. It was a no brainer.

IM000582DSC00157

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Bits and pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 1986

  1. Beth says:

    I don\’t know why but this post made me feel happy and smile.  I am so glad you finally found your soulmate.  I read the post twice to make sure I understood this as you had it buried there with all of the other stuff.  Congratulations!  I hope you make it to 50 years together.

  2. Beth says:

    P.S.  I forgot to tell you the cat is beautiful!

  3. Rambling says:

    You have made me happy.  I loved reading this about you and Sweet Taters. 

Leave a Reply

