Tinsel and Tears

It’s Christmas time and all our expectations are heightened.

Sight, sound, touch, taste and smell are all intensified and so,

we live our greatest joys and deepest sorrows in one short season.

Where is the reason for the tinsel, for the tears, for the sorrows, for the cheer?

Oh, Bethlehem of old, unto you a child is born, unto you a son is risen

and, His name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, the Mighty God,

the Everlasting Father, the Prince of Peace.

It’s Christmas time so if I weep, let me weep for joy!

If I hang the garland let it be for peace.

If I give gifts, let them be for love.

And, if in this season sorrows come

let that radiant star in Bethlehem of old shine hope into my soul.

It’s Christmas time so if I weep, let me weep for joy!

                                                             jrw 12/1/92

 

Jay’s space

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in jrw Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tinsel and Tears

  1. Embrace says:

    Beautiful Blog.
    Merry Christmas. I love the part where it states Prince of Peace, Mighty God. I have always loved that.
    Hugs Lisa

  2. Becca says:

    Beautiful. Just beautiful.
    Thank you,
    Becca

Leave a Reply

