Whispering Hills

I drove the narrow roads searching for answers. Habit guided the wheels. I’d been this way before. The woods were bare, punctuated here and there with a lone pine or southern magnolia. The skies were gray, no shadows or highlights today. December dampness deceived the West Georgia hills hiding their thirst and making all seem well.

I often go driving aimless. Wandering. Searching for answers to questions I don’t even know. Some might call it contentment. In some ways it is. How do you long for what can’t be described? Unless one had known the taste of Eden he wouldn’t hunger for it.

So, I go driving. Please, no radio. The hills never shout. They only whisper.

Perhaps I would hear more if I walked. Walk!? Oh come now Hills let us reason together. Might not a treadmill be sufficient? Yes. Yes, I can do treadmill in 2008. Might not treadmill at Curves be sufficient? Hello. Hello! Hills! Hills, you still there?

Jay’s Place

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Bits and pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whispering Hills

  1. Beth says:

    Curves is for women.  Now you have me laughing and your post was quite moving. Jim and I used to go for long drives in the country.  No hills here.  This particular part of Illinois is flat as a pancake.  You can stand in our local cemetery and see a small village 5 miles down the road.  I used to take my camera along on our drives and take pictures of everything.  Wildflowers, weeds, corn, wheat, soybeans.  Now that was living.

  2. Rambling says:

    I\’m with beth on that.  I take the camera most places now that I went to digital a year or so ago.  Come on,. I\’ll walk the hills with ya..git on out\’cher.And you\’re right…we are pert\’ near EVERYTHING around here.  Full up..that\’s for sure.  🙂

  3. Jorge says:

    You have a wonderfully lyrical writing style, and a pattern of thinking I admire. Thanks for stopping by. Please come back and visit again. Wishing you and yours a happy, healthy New Year,
    J.

  4. Jay says:

    I wish you a very happy New Year and all the best for 2008.
     
    May you be blessed with all good things in the coming year.
     
     
    Jay 🙂

Leave a Reply

