Your choice

In the new year I’m juggling tonight with questions that are not new, just dusted off. Self worth and the quintessential goodness of man. I doubt them both at times. The only relief I find is that there is  one much greater than I and, he invited me to be his friend. I accepted when I was 7 years old. I still wrestle with ageless questions that have given men headaches for centuries. Kinda stupid ain’t it.

Choice

We’ve become all poets and philosophers

leaving the fields unplanted

the gates not watched

searching for deeper meaning to simple questions

Bread for the hungry water for those that thirst

Songs of life eloquently lifted from the souls of men dying

trying in moments of calm to grasp

what might become hidden

in the fury and rage of another moment

Answers obscured in the blood and sweat of getting by

Mortal combatants facing eternity

Each time we lift our eyes to the heavens

we’re reminded once again there is no end

Only fields to be planted and gates to mend

Mundane and boring

Chores of choice crying to be done

We search for answers hidden in our bellies

and try to speak truths with tongues swollen from thirst

There is no deeper meaning

Simply life

Precious life

Life eternal

jrw 1992 Songs of Sweetwater book 5 

Jay’s Place

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in jrw Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Your choice

  1. Beth says:

    Very moving post.  Thank you.
     

  2. Rambling says:

    I try to think like this every day…if only one of the things you outlined.  I TRY…not always successful.  🙂

  3. CharlotteMae says:

    Excellent post.  I came here from Jorge\’s blog.  Happy New Year and have a pleasant weekend.. mtgal

  4. kb says:

    I love this post. Especially how it wraps up. This is the shift that I\’m experiencing right now. The philosopher and poet in me is moving from "deep and hidden things" back to the childish things. Wonder. Joy. Simplicity. Slowing down. Thanks for the post, it\’s been inspiring.

  5. n says:

    This is a beautiful post, really moving, was nice to read.  Thanks for sharing, Venus

Leave a Reply

