Pain and Super Tuesday

One is never far removed from pain. Should we ever think we are the non-sociopath among us are soon enough moved to tears of pain or tears of empathy for  family or friends in pain. It is the common thread of our humanity. We feel pain and sometimes the pain of others we don’t even know.
As a side note let us all be aware that there are those who will use this common thread to achieve their own agendas. It’s election year people. Vote with your head. Shame, guilt and pie in the sky are not allowed in the polling booth. 
Please forgive this brief digression, there are others more qualified at political commentary.
The subject is pain and it is as common as elbows. It can lead to depression. That is another thing that I feel totally helpless and unqualified to comment upon. We see it almost daily in living color and blog walking. It’s there. It’s in our face. The point of the following poem is that  purpose and hope are often found through pain and suffering.
 
Clouds
 
I’ve hated you this week for the pain I’ve felt
yet in the brightness of today
I’ve looked into the high wispy clouds
and seen God’s thumb print upon the sky
Perhaps I’ll never understand why
but knowing one much greater does
brings some comfort on cloudy days
when darkness hides the hand of God
When emotions seem to billow
as the storms come once again
And come they will a mighty wind
trying the balance in my life
Pushing
Shoving
This way then that
till I can barely stand
But grace sustains
The winds refrain and
the clouds scatter on high
till in the brightness of today
I’ve seen God’s thumbprint
upon the sky
 
j.r. wynn copyright 12/7/1986
 
 
About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in jrw Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pain and Super Tuesday

  1. Beth says:

    I love your poems.  Have them published and I definitely would buy the book.

  2. the says:

    Beautiful.  Peace.

  3. Donna says:

    Hi, Jay!
    I loved your poem!!
    I will have to look on your profile, I can\’t remember if you live in BC, Canada but if you have a climate similiar to ours, I can totally relate! I don\’t mind the rain, I walk in it, run in it, drive in it but… It can rain here for months on end in the Winter!! The grey skies can have an affect on people, especially for such long periods of time. It is the lack of Vitamin D and some people suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder, I am not one of them however: I can understand because it can get to be a bit of a downer after such extended periods of time.

  4. R U Serious says:

    Sorry….. the 4lbs of wings are GONE!  But I posted the recipe!!  GREAT game!!
     
    Thanks for the comment!!!

  5. Rambling says:

    I loved it too.  I\’m definitely your fan.

  6. Linda says:

    Very nice.  Yer a poet and you know it. I\’m hungry. Think I\’ll go get something to eat.

Leave a Reply

