Main Street Post

DSC00808(1)  I’ve found much angst on Main Street today. Gas pains I suspect. For years I’ve been fortunate and blessed with the memories of a smiling face from my youth. Earl Mosley never complained. Though I suspect he had much he could have whined about, he never did. He was a sage of sorts in my young life. A simple man that made and is still making an impact on my life.

The following poem is written in the Southern dialect according to my friend Joelle. The style reflects the  simplicity and wisdom of years that I’ve grown to respect, a virtue that is quickly passing in these sophisticated days.

SHAKIN’ DAYS
Hush chil’. Don’t you fret  ain’t no tears gonna help you git yo way. Now go on, go on ’bout yo play and quit yo worry with a day dat ain’t here. What wit all da cares t’da ain’t no time to waste away on da-morrow. Git on wit da task at han an whil you young chil’ learn to stan da days. Deys gonna be sho a plenty to tear you down lest you got any standin’ pow’r. Oh, thank you Jesus. And in dis hour teach us Laud yo standin’ pow’r. Help da young’un and de old to find um sumpin’ dey can hold when da days go to shakin’, shakin’ to yo soul. Teach us Laud to praise yo name soon as da new day brang us from our sleep. And when dhese feet hit da flo, sho us Laud which way to go. Sholy, sholy we can’t stand lest you got us by da hand. Hush now chil’ don’t you fret ’cause I ain’t seen no time yet when my good Laud done fogit to hep His chullin’ stan.
jrw copyright 9/3/94

DSC00810 

Thanks Earl Mosley.

Happy Memorial day to ya’ll and have a great weekend!

j

 

DSC00806

 

Spaces home – Windows Live Spaces

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in jrw Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Main Street Post

  1. the says:

    Awesome.  You\’ve got the knack.  I am taken back to Greenville, S.C. when I read these words.  Don\’t ever stop, my man.  Peace.

  2. Rambling says:

    Here in East TN. I am well, and you did a super job.

  3. Beth says:

    I really enjoyed this post.  Thanks!

  4. kb says:

    It
    really doesn\’t matter if you have a strong relationship with a tree,
    snail darter, raindeer, etc, you will be able to overcome. Amen
    and Amen! Praise be to Mother earth and Algore her chosen prophet. Let
    the Kudzu rejoice and the vermin sing glory, glory, glory to the
    tallest pine in Georgia.
    j.Your Comment was Hilarious!

  5. Ron says:

    I really like your blogging style.  It makes me wish that I could spend more time here in spaces.  But I just have too much on my plate right now.  I do really appreciate your kind words and messages these past few weeks though.  Take Care, Ron

Leave a Reply

