Daddy

If I could crawl into your lap now

and feel your warmth again

smell the work you came from

rub the stubble on your chin

There is so much I’d tell you

about the way it’s been

I could have learned it

all from you

if I had listened then

jrw 03/20/1991 

DSC01140

J.H. Wynn 06/05/1925 – 03/20/1982

Jay’s Place

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in jrw Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daddy

  1. Rambling says:

    Perfect.  And oh, I miss my dad too.  After all, he reared me and my brothers. 
     
    Happy Father\’s Day.

  2. Beth says:

    A beautiful tribute for all fathers.

  3. the says:

    Ain\’t that the truth.  " . . . if I had lisyened then".  The lessons that I could have learned and the problems I could have avoided.  Nice piece of work, as usual.  Happy Fathers\’ Day.  Peace

  4. Jane says:

    Great poem.  Sad that your dad died so young… 58?  (Maybe I\’m not reading the date right – it\’s tiny and I am getting… not younger.)
     
     

Leave a Reply

