Will you be there?

Will You Be There?

 DSC01515(2)

On a summer’s night will you be there when I set on the porch and finally cool
from the heat of the August sun? Will you brush the tension from my brow
just as I can see you now?
On a summer’s night will you be there when the crickets sing
and the fire flies dance into the sky?
Will you come and sit behind me  with your breast against  my back
and your arms around my chest,and listen to the music of the night?
On a summer’s night will you be there to watch the stars with me;
hoping we will see one shooting through the heavens,
to hang our cares upon?
On a summer’s night will you be there when the music calms my soul
and passion rises bold? Will you whisper in my ear,
"let’s leave the day right here"?
On a summer’s night will you be there to take me gently in
just as my soul does mend from the heat of an August day?

J. Robert Wynn
1/19/87

Published in 1992  Anthology of Douglas Poets in focus
Songs Of Sweetwater Book#5

Spaces home – Windows Live Spaces

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in jrw Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Will you be there?

  1. Rambling says:

    my kind of thing!!!!!

  2. Beth says:

    So very beautiful!!

  3. kb says:

    Liked it. Nothing like listening to the sounds of nature.

  4. Jerry says:

    NICE!!!

  5. Stewart says:

    Nice stuff.

  6. dawn says:

    bittersweet is correct!   *sighs*  only almost there..d

  7. Rhapsody says:

    Only time will tell. Nice….
    Have a great day and a splendid week ahead.

    LATEST BLOG ACTIVITY: BLOG – ENOUGH AM I UNTIL I DIE
    ALBUM – Taste Of The Danforth Festival "Aug 2008" 

  8. C says:

    Yummy loved that cornbread..A country girl here:) Just wanted to say hello..Not sure how I got here..Love the poems!!

  9. Rambling says:

    and I willrepeat the same as I did first…my kind of thing.  I am stopping by to see if you are still sitting in the porch swing.

Leave a Reply

