Slow To Change

SLO’ TO CHANGE

These newfangled things are simply amazin’.
Totally awe struck I’m here justa gazin’.
Realizin’ that right at the threshold I stand
with the greatest achievement of civilized man.
No more thru the dark and the rain will I run.
No more in the cold will I sit.
Sears’nRoebuck will probably still hang around,
but the times are a changin’ a bit.
Years later I’m satisfied that was the highmark
of newfangled contraptions to me.
The most useful invention
at relievin’ tension.
A most relaxin’ seat yes siree.
Now change is a thing I thought I was use to,
with airplanes and autos and such.
But, I’ve heard my fall and winter Sears’nRoebuck
is the last one I’ll ever hang up.
Oh no. Oh woo! Sears’nRoebuck
I’ll miss you.
Your pages have kept me all thru the years.
But, computers today can pert’near do anything,
so I reckon these spread sheets will do.

J. Robert Wynn
2-23-93

Jay’s Place – Windows Live

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Slow To Change

  1. Beth says:

    Great Jay! I love it! I am glad I found you!!

  2. Embrace says:

    Great Blog.. I loved it too.

  3. Rhapsody says:

    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm….interesting, sometimes its not how long the journey but that you get there eventually.

  4. Jorge says:

    It is amazing, all the changes we have witnessed in our lifetime! Be well,J.

  5. Here I Am says:

    Yes we have seen many changes but what is to come will really blow us all away. Well I hope not really blow us away. Thats a little to scary to think about…

  6. Thot says:

    Strange the Sears near my little city has just anounced it is closing its doors. What is is about sears now that makes it so different than the littler store that used to contain six or seven times the inventory that people love to buy. I cant quite figure it out, is it that everything is carded on peg board now, rather than sitting lose in on hundreds of shelves? I walked thru the tool section and I was amazed how different it felt than when I used to browse thru mountains of sporting goods and tools in the old store on first west and second north. I went to the mall where a bigger Sears store anchors one end of the complex, and I bought a snow plow for a small garden tractor. I recall buying one years ago for a david bradly walk behind….the two experiences were vastly different. That time we loaded the blade onto a rolling cart and pushed it out of the garden shop to our truck where we loaded it, already assembled, into the bed…the salesman then chatted with us for a few minutes about how great that blade was for clearing showy driveways…and finding out all about its future home. This time I paid for the advertised blade, I went to a computer station, typed in my name and my recipt number…a guy soon appeared from behind this locked door and verified my recipt…then after a ten minute wait he wheeled out a long narrow box with no markings other than a model number and the words snow blade…he wheeled it on his dolly to my van and slipped it into the side door, then thanked me and returned to his locked door. As I drove away I couldnt help but compare the two purchases and the changes that have taken place in the last 30 years…no wonder people have stopped filling their stores…its not fun to shop there any more…

Leave a Reply

