Rear view mirror

 

                   DSC02168(2)

The photo was taken today. It’s still very mild in Georgia. The title reminded me of a poem I had once written. So much has been

disposable in life, including life itself.

 

Disposable

Gone
used up
empty
crushed and thrown away
broken against an unsuspecting road sign
or mailbox
any target will do
hit or miss
it doesn’t matter
just throw it
let it sail
watch it bounce and skip along the roadside
disappearing in the rearview mirror
gone

jrw 1989

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rear view mirror

  1. Beth says:

    The picture is awesome. What a curvy road, I think I would get dizzy just driving on it.

  2. Rambling says:

    Love that road!!!

  3. Embrace says:

    Amazing Image .. One of your Best or my Favs. The Poem speaks to me of many many things.Thanks J.

  4. Brent says:

    Almost looks the the mirror has some deformities.

  5. Stewart says:

    My mom used to say a little ditty about a little crooked man walking down a little crooked road. I like my rearview mirror to life. It shows me where I traveled, good and bad. A reflection of me, good and bad. Kinda humbling if taken i the right context.Ooh, I need to go to bed, before more of this type of reflection comes out of me.I did enjoy your picture and poem Ms. J.Thanks for sharing with us.

  6. ··¤ SETH says:

    The one thing that spoils the natual beauty of most places… is that of litter. It just kinda takes from the “nature” of it all. Even if we were to have roadside signs to remind people "…Keep our land neat and clean, keep your litter off the scene…" wouldn\’t do much good for some people. Unfortunately. Aaaaargh! What is so difficult in keeping a plastic bag in the car/truck and dump your garbage at home! :o(

  7. Here I Am says:

    Cool photo and poem watching the trash disappear.

Leave a Reply

