Walk about

I took a winter’s walk a few days back looking for January color. If I’m not finding it in Georgia I’m not looking close enough. DSC02183(1) Dreary winter days are hard to handle. Some of you folks out there have more experience with cabin fever than I ever will. God bless you is all I can say. I don’t know how you do it but you do it well and I read your post and view your photography and thank God for you hardy souls. There is a lot of bitter cold around now. Some of you may be cooped up and feeling like winter will never end. It will. The sun will shine and a veritable heat wave for your neck of the woods will get you out for a walk about. Enjoy it. I did.

Open water in January! That may be an oddity for some of you folks. Our winters are usually pretty mild. Hardly ever do we get a 24 hour period of below freezing weather. Today was an exception. Tomorrow is suppose to get back into the low forties following a low of 13 tomorrow morning. DSC02221(1)

The red bark maple, Acer Palmatum makes a great winter display of color contrast. It would be gorgeous in the snow wouldn’t it! Enough of that. You’ve probably had a flake or two around for several weeks now!

Hot’lanta doesn’t get much snow. That’s ok with me. Three to four inches will make things really pretty but let it be gone by noon! I got close enough to the city to grab a sky line shot the other day. This view is from the SW burbs. That’s DSC02204(1) about as close as I have to get to the city on the job. Steve from Alaska posted a blog about coyotes today. I mentioned I had seen a couple of live ones over the years. The most recent one was about 4 – 5 years back no more that a mile from this location.

January color is everywhere. City and country scenes await you. At your first chance get out with your camera and take a walk about. Breath deep and thank God you can. Look for the unexpected and you just may find a seat to rest your aching bones from all this walk about crap that wore your butt out after holiday eating and no exercise for 6 to 8 weeks. God bless us all. DSC02229(1)                                        

I’m counting with Beth.

Shivering j, out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Walk about

  1. Embrace says:

    Beautiful Blog J. I love that Red Maple tree. Mine are not that red . It is turly amazing. We have some othere trees that are red but not like that one. Red Willows and Red Birch.I love the Bench more than you know. ..Open water will be here soon enough I guess. It was nice to come here and read and see this. ThanksHave a great weekend.

  2. Kuskulana says:

    It\’s amazing how things are so different and in a way so the same in different parts.We had a record 50 degrees here today in the midst of a winter warming we often get.January color can be hard to come by outdoors here but I get out no matter, there is always something to see.Your last paragraph above the bench really says it, I will sit anywhere I don\’t have to shiver very long to be out in January or any other month. Happy New Year and keep getting out there, that is the cure for cabin fever everywhere.

  3. Beth says:

    The pictures are wonderful J. Cheered up my poor old soul. It is 14 degrees here so we have had quite a warmup from yesterday morning.

  4. ··¤ SETH says:

    The thing that a lot of people cannot comprehend is that Mother Nature doesn\’t have a bullet with your name on it, she has millions of bullets inscribed with \’to whom it may concern. I agree with Kuskulana Steve… how across this great country we tend to experience such difference in our weather… at the very same time. Like right now, it is a mild -4°C/24°F. White (snow) is what you will see around here. The great thing about all this white (snow) is that it makes your lawn look as nice as your neighbor\’s.Yes… I am looking forward to Spring… and the colours that will follow. Nice photos!

  5. Sue says:

    Great pic\’s love the red of the treeTake careSue

  6. Here I Am says:

    What a contrast to what we have up here. Great photos.

  7. Rambling says:

    Loving the photos and I did not know about that maple. I will have to look that up, I wish I had one. That\’s not a Japanese form of maple is it?Great photos and while we are close to your weather etc we aren\’t there..it\’s cold. :-)Keep well, my friend.

  8. J says:

    Yes Ms Rambling it is a japanese variety \’Sango Kaku\’ Coral bark Maple.j

Leave a Reply

