Winter’s Muse

Many years ago having chased a bad marriage to Wyoming we settled a few years in Casper. Casper mountain was the setting for this poem one snowy morning so long ago.  The memories of that day were recalled this week as I passed by a local church each morning on my way to work. "To hear God’s voice turn down the noise of the world". The simple message spoke to me this week. Is it just me or has it been really noisy lately?

Snowy Silence

Thank you for speaking so gently
still quietness
deep in the woods
clearly you’ve come and
quietly you’ll leave
having said all for now
your season seems so short
leaving me hungry for your voice
empty in the noise of your absence
if I could see the clock and say
that is the time you’ll come
how comforting it would be for me
but time only knows
and will not tell it’s secret
when to seek for silence in the snow
and so my vigil is eternal
for the nourishment of your voice
still and quiet and sure is life
whisper once again
and shatter all this noise
with your snowy silence

jrw©1991DSC02410

Jay’s Place’s Blog – Windows Live

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter’s Muse

  1. Duckie says:

    Thanks. Reminds me of "Be still and know that I am God."

  2. Embrace says:

    I was walking today in the silence of the snow cold wind. My face was cold but my heart , mind and words were on the Lord and only he knows the converstion we had and it was a good one. This is Beautiful J. Deeply moving and written right from your heart .Thanks for this one.Lisa

  3. Beth says:

    Even though your words are lovely, I have had enough of the silent snow this winter to last me a lifetime. LOL

  4. Maro says:

    Beautifully written and very moving. Hope you are having a blessed weekend.~Hugs~Maro~

Leave a Reply

