Later

It has been really busy this spring. Two years of drought in the southeast has finally eased a bit. With municipalities relaxing watering restrictions many people are anxious to repair their lawns and landscapes. Well, make hay when the sun shines! We’re looking forward to a great year. I realized today that I haven’t posted anything this month. Some people post every day! That’s a challenge I can’t wrap my brain around just now. Maybe one day. That’s what made me think of this poem. Hope you enjoy it.

Stopped cold in my tracks

with the brick wall realization that  DSC_0054

it ain’t over yet

Unfinished reminders point to the sky

as monuments to procrastination

Do it later rings in anthem

through the hallways of time

with as many reasons as rotting projects

why they fell from grace

In one hundred years no one will care

In two minutes it won’t matter to most

Leave my grave unfilled

Carve just half my stone as reminders to passers by

there are other things to do

It ain’t finished yet

jrw © 08/26/1993

DSC_0083

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Later

  1. Lenore says:

    I liked the poem. I\’m just being reminded about taking time to do what\’s important and enjoy life. BTW I also enjoyed looking at your pictures.

  2. Rambling says:

    Howdy. Long time no see.

  3. Beth says:

    What a great poem. I love it. I ain\’t finished yet either!

  4. Stewart says:

    Amen brother. It ain\’t finished yet. Good post.

  5. Here I Am says:

    Yes I get so caught up in seeing unfinished stuff I get overwhelmed. And does it really matter. Great words..

  6. Jorge says:

    I love this poem! As my friend always says, "Life is short and uncertain – eat dessert first!" Be well,J.

  7. ··¤ SETH says:

    I guess you can say that I do my work at the same time each day… the last minute. If it weren\’t for the last minute, I wouldn\’t get anything done. :o(

Leave a Reply

