It’s a fine line

DSC_0044-20090625_0038-_edited-1

The events of this past week have reminded me of the fine line we tread.Life and death are only separated by
a moment. With the passing of luminaries I’m reminded of my own faint light flickering on this side of the line.
I’m also reminded this week of the thin line between wisdom and stupidity. Last nights congressional vote on cap
and trade was a glaring example of that but, I ramble.Indeed the fine line between wisdom and stupidity is that which I feel qualified to write about and that, from the male perspective, is my subject.
Uncontrolled appetites can lead to many unhealthy decisions. The list of delicacies is long and often blonde,
brunette or redheaded.In western societies it is in your face.In some societies it’s hidden beneath veils and robes.
I prefer in your face.
That presents men with the challenge of rationality or stupidity. Youthful indiscretion is not excused but reckless
abandonment by a seemingly responsible mature man borders on insanity. That is my point. There is a fine line.
I cannot cast stones. I can only warn myself and my brothers in bond that the pleasures of sin are only for a
season.Sin is such an avoided subject it seems. Perhaps an acronym would be more acceptable. Self Indulgent
Nincompoop.
Our elected officials so often disappoint me. High expectations should never be so glibly placed in mortals.
We are certainly fallible. Hope for the best, expect the worst? Maybe not.Hope for the best, pray for the best,
expect the best and never let the banner of exceptionalism fall into the debris of one man’s mistakes.
In the words of a famous bumper sticker, **it happens. That does not justify the sins of stupid officials.
Hiking the Appalachian trail would have been a much better idea. A long walk in the woods can settle
the head and allow the brain to return to it’s rightful position. I know things can get a little crazy at times.
We all have our moments.

Jack in the box

Exhausted
disgusted
fed up to the max
How to and when to
Just let the thing crack
Get slap berserk
Let loose all the nuts
Spin out the bolts
and just kiss my tired butt
There’s a wild man
a fruit cake
right here where I stand
I’ve come all unraveled
I’m a lunatic man
I’m tired of the effort
to keep it packed in                                                                                                                                 
I’m a jack in the box
on the very last spin
No doubt about it
I’ve crossed the thin line
I’ve flown with the cuckoo
and had a great time

jrw © 5/12/94

Brothers, sin is pleasurable for a season but it just ain’t worth the payback. I guess the moral of
this post is simply, keep Jack zipped up so you don’t end up looking like a silly clown or a South Carolina
Governor.

j

DSC_0049-20090625_0043-

 

1 Corinthians 10:13 (American Standard Version)

 13 There hath no temptation taken you but such as man can bear: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation make also the way of escape, that ye may be able to endure it.

 

 

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s a fine line

  1. Beth says:

    BRAVO!!! An excellent post told like it really is!

  2. Here I Am says:

    Way to voice the issue. Are these people so stupid, do they really think no one is ever going to find out. Oh but then they aren\’t thinking with their brain. Love the moral. Thanks for stopping in..

  3. ··¤ SETH says:

    It almost seems that when it comes to most Politicians… talk is cheap because supply far exceeds demand. :o) Most excellent entry!

Leave a Reply

