One, two, three!

firm and determined without a doubt

and yet there are six chances to go anywhere

what are the consequences

another pause, another number

counting parent wrapped snuggly around the toddler’s will

responsibility falls heavy testing maturity

citizen of the world playing global games of counting

refusing to lead rebellious children

one, two, three hawk or sparrow

one will be

jrw ©5/3/2009
About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in jrw Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One, two, three!

  1. Beth says:

    Excellent!

  2. Touch says:

    Great shot, J!

  3. Catherine Mary says:

    How insightful this is…somethimes, it seems to me, it doesn\’t matter how much one is a sparrow, how much one tries to be the parent one should be, one ends up with hawks instead of sparrows anyway…my odds were three to one, hawks to sparrows, the shock being, the youngest was the sparrow…after all you hear about the youngest being the most rebellious, it didn\’t turn out that way…thankyou for writing this, J. truly, Katie.

  4. ··¤ SETH says:

    People… young and old rebel for a number of reasons. The Boston Tea Party and the American Revolution were rebellions against tyranny. The young almost always rebel against their elders, because they think they know better, and some older people tend to lose touch with the current times. I was once labelled rebellious because I refused to be pushed around. I also rebel against what I perceive as every day injustices. You could say people rebel when they refuse to go along with the status quo. New ideas are frequently labelled as rebellious. :o)

  5. Rambling says:

    I am crazy about hawks and this is a great shot of a Cooper\’s.

  6. Rambling says:

    I just love this. I already intimated that but here I am saying it.

  7. ··¤ SETH says:

    No special reason…Nor any special day…Just popped in here to your space to say \’Wassup ?\’ I do hope that you are keeping well.

  8. Here I Am says:

    Oh J your words had me on such a roll then bam. This amazing photo. We have a hawk nest near by I can hear the young one crying all day for food. We have an abundance of small birds with young ones. I am sure that is why the hawk nested so close. Take Care and thanks for stopping in..

Leave a Reply

