Wednesday Rant

Monday morning. Raining. Running late. The old nature swells beneath my skin cracking a thin veneer of righteousness like the discarded exoskeleton of some long gone critter I hope has morphed into something beautiful. Something wonderful. Something totally opposite of what I am this morning. What emerges is ugly, ill tempered and totally unfit for inclusion in the 8am wave of humanity.
Rush hours are definitely some of least favored hours of suburban life. The 8 AM slot has to be the worst of the morning waves. There are just too many nuts for this  nut to be thrown into the mix. Mixed nuts for the most part are good. It’s the plain nuts that need to be, how can I say it, eliminated. Get rid of them all. We’ll never miss them and the rainy Monday 8 AM wave will be much more civil.
Civility. Yes! Give me the 6 or 7 AM crowd anytime. Those 8 AM folks are just plain nuts. And yes, thanky very much, I know it ain’t Wednesday.
j

Romans 7:23-25 (New American Standard Bible)
23but I see a different law in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin which is in my members.  24Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death?
25Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, on the one hand I myself with my mind am serving the law of God, but on the other, with my flesh  the law of sin.

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Bits and pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Wednesday Rant

  1. Beth says:

    We all have mornings like that.

  2. john says:

    Darn Henry Ford and old man Diesiel ….. . should be put out to pasture for what they created. If it wasn\’t for them we would still be on bicycles…..yet it is better to walk in the will of the Lord then to crawl with the 8:00 am group….have a great day anyway. … Why Not?

  3. Stephen Craig says:

    Jay, In my youth I was a commuter in the Chicago area. We lived in a northwest suburb and I worked for an advertising art studio in the loop on Michigan Ave. I took the train to and from work and soon found that the rat race was not for me. Three months or so was quite enough and left that part of my life as as memory.Have a good week andas ever be well

  4. J says:

    j2JohnBord, Any day I add a new verse to the arsenal is a good day. 1 Bord 3:16 It is better to walk in the will of the Lord then to crawl with the 8:00 am group! Thanks John.

  5. J says:

    j2Stephen, I\’m just a cry baby. I have one of the easiest commutes in town, 15 min normal. However the recent flood conditions have closed many major thoroughfares and it has become an 8 AM zoo around here. Whine, whine, whine. Many have so much more to bitch about and rightly so.j

  6. J says:

    j2Beth, Thank you Beth. It wasn\’t so bad after all but, boy was I peed yesterday morning!

  7. Duckie says:

    I so dislike getting caught in the rat race when the rats seem to be winning.

  8. J says:

    j2Duckie, Agreed! Rats should never be liscensed to drive except maybe those little wheelie things inside a cage.

  9. Workinprogress says:

    I really don\’t miss that at all the hustle and tussle of the runwhen I went to my cruise I had to go to downtown Seattle to get there and OMG was it a mess everyone rushing to get where, no where really but they sure where in a hurry to do soThese days I get up take care of the pup and Mom and the only traffic I get is if the dog gets under my feet then I sit outside and have a slow cup of coffee and a cig and watch the world go by and living in the country we don\’t have traffic just a neighbor driving by waving as they leave for work.OK this is going nowhere but I guess that\’s where I\’m going and actually I like it that wayThe world moves to fast for me these days everyone rushes so fast they don\’t see life I guess that\’s why I don\’t mind sitting there It might not be exciting but I get to enjoy what there is of it

  10. Rambling says:

    I have never found a blog I can relate to more!!! Amen!!! I mean the opening lines too…especially those.

  11. Gerry says:

    There\’s a lot to be said for working swing shift! 😉

  12. Kuskulana says:

    🙂 chaos every day

  13. J says:

    j2Steve, being from the wide open land of the midnight sun would make a lot of places seem chaotic! Got room for another pilgrim up there?

  14. J says:

    j2Ramblin, relate as in rush hour or cuss hour?

  15. J says:

    j2Gerry, I tried swing shifts years ago. It was confusing. Actually I never knew which end was up, kinda like a natural zoloft. You know on second thought swing shifts worked for the ill tempered bent of my nature.j

  16. J says:

    j2Work, I\’m a few years away from retirement. Approximately 1300 morning rush hours if I retire early. Oh man that is 2600 with the afternoon rush. Wow, what a downer.j

  17. Rambling says:

    I don\’t cuss..so I must mean rush hour and that cursed instrument called the tongue which burns and hurts regardless that the words are not curses.

  18. Kuskulana says:

    Here Here about beating the crowd

  19. J says:

    j2Ramblin, I hear you Ms Ramblin. For such a little fellow the tongue sure causes us a lot of trouble. James 3:6.

  20. Michiko's says:

    I guess! everybody had still harf of asleep in the morning that what you expected anything happening in the hours Sis!???I believed you were still in pink colour of Pajamas?? and I was surprise to see that you are still regularly your blogs on Wednesday RANT after all not bad that all Sis! xoxoxox

  21. ··¤ SETH says:

    Aging… Uuugh!…. First we forget names, then we forget faces, then we forget to pull our zipper up, then we forget to pull our zipper down. Although change to our aging bodies is inevitable, all too often we abhor and fear the process. But… I guess there\’s always a lot to be thankful for if you take time to look for it. For example, I am sitting here thinking how nice it is that wrinkles don\’t hurt. :o)

  22. ··¤ SETH says:

    I hate driving… in rush hour traffic. I’ve toyed with leaving early, leaving late–to no avail. It is a stressful world out there, with everyone in such a hurry, and the roads can be a dangerous place but seriously folks…. using your turn signal is not "giving information to the enemy"!!!!!!

  23. J says:

    j2Seth, Signal your intentions and then put it in the hole! Any hesitation after singaling and many folks will speed up around here. There is no exhibit of southern hospitality on the 285 Perimeter around Atlanta. Need a hole, make one. Another rainy monday,j

  24. J says:

    j2Michiko, Hi there! No pink PJs here. Maybe you were looking for our Diva friend Ms Ramblin. Love ya anyway Sis so I\’m sending a friends request.j

  25. Rambling says:

    That\’s my Sis, Michiko. Love her to bits.

  26. Workinprogress says:

    workin to j I would rather be working tell yah the truth I miss work when I lost my job well couldnt do it anymore it was like a part of me died that hasnt come back to this day i still get up early like I use to and when i sit and watch the neibors go by going to work Its hard somedays I have to come inside because I cant handlePeople say I cant wait but its not as easy as it looks you feel useless somedaysmore info than needed again I guessanyway love to all Peace

  27. Workinprogress says:

    Dont min me I get depressed somedays but its better to get it out than to leave it sitI guess what i meant to say is im still waiting to see that door that god opened after the other was closed

  28. J says:

    j2Work, Work in progress! Aren\’t we all. I just don\’t see you waiting. Nope. I see you doing. I see you blogging, enjoying photography, traveling. Fighting. Yep, thats the word fighting. Fighting apathy, boredom and the mundane chores of choice we all make each day. It\’s gotta be done and who can do it better than you for you. Check out this link to an earlier post Work. http://ihopedaily.spaces.live.com/default.aspx?_c01_BlogPart=blogentry&_c=BlogPart&handle=cns!72C21CDF0296DE8A!370j

  29. Here I Am says:

    I am so not a morning person. When I had to work I always took the 2nd shift. We kept moving futher from the big cities just to get away from rush hours and traffic. Well I can now drive 30 minutes to town and not encounter one car till I reach town which is so small we don\’t even have a traffic light yet. I would give up all of lifes luxuries to live in a small town and make way less money then spend half my life in traffic trying to get to work or just get around. Its scary what people turn into when driving in traffic. Stay cool, calm and don\’t be in a rush… Hugs Carrie

  30. Michiko's says:

    I hate to rush hours in the morning, still sleep head from a late bed timelol! but I\’m retired now I can avoid the rush hours….Please drive carefully.

  31. J says:

    j2Carrie, It is true some people transform when they drive in traffic. I\’ve caught the beast in my rear view mirror before! Your town sounds so nice and not a bad drive either. Thirty minutes of beautiful scenery sure beats the heck out of the same time with only brake lights to watch. Occasionally it is rather amusing. At times it seems horns and birds breakout everywhere I turn! Crazy folks, wonder what got into them?

  32. Lisa ♥ says:

    I leave to go into a city an hour away very early and head home early when I have to go..I cant take the traffic either. It used to be a breeze when I was a city girl but now you cant get the country out of me and thats where I belong and stay most of the time. I have a few towns to go too close by . No traffic like the city. Try going into a mall on a Sat . or Sun. Its awful. Now women I hear are getting mugged in parking lots by young girls just for what they bought and money. I have no idea what this world is coming too but sure glad I live where I do. Good Rant J.

  33. J says:

    j2lisa, Mall!! Normally I just never have a need to go that way. When I do I\’m usually guilted into it around Christmas time! Its the unruly, wild, wide open kids at the mall that gripe me. They should be chained to their parents but no, they\’re probably not even there.

  34. Workinprogress says:

    The Dog eat dog world of christmas I think they need more church services before christmas to remind people what it is suppose to be aboutIts suppose to be about the coming of christ good will to men sure wouldnt know it in the storeswhen you get pushed out of the way so someone can get that last toy or people almost getting in a fight over who was in line firstI try to get all my shopping done early for one to avoid the rush but 2 just so they dont kill my sprirt of christmas from me

  35. Workinprogress says:

    Thinking of that I think ill get mine done next month right away and be done with it I dont have alot to get so not to big a deal I just have to deal with the food stores thenabout all I want to deal with then anywayMight even go to church this year never know I know ill be ringing bells salvation army is such a awesome gruop of ppl around here and do alot of good for those who cant for themselfslast line also if you want to give to a great place that helps alot of people there is the ronald mcdonald houses I go every year with Boxes of food most cerial and stuff like that they can always use food there and Ill tell yah what you want that sprirt of christams in you go to one once look around all those kids with all there problems and they will be the first to say thanks and merry christmas to you

  36. J says:

    j2Work, Psalms 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.” Perhaps the man in the rearview mirror is listening. I\’m sure it will make rush hours easier and the shopping mall brats more tolerable. Thanks for the comments Man!

  37. Workinprogress says:

    To me I get such a christmas rush by helping others hard to explain but its so awesome the feeling you get seeing the smile you might give someone that they might not have had without your help THATS Christmas to me

Leave a Reply

