Flash off

I should have something to say. After all it was my only regular TV show. Flash Forward is a new show this fall airing on ABC. I’m not sure of it’s regular sponsors at this time but, I will be trying to find out. I was really enjoying the show. I normally start getting ready for bed around 9pm. The Flash Forward time slot was 8pm. Perfect! I looked forward to 8pm every Thursday until this week. I don’t know why I expected anything more from the blue tube. There is good programming and then there is other programming. The other programming stack in getting higher every season. Hollywood’s editorial opinions have often been woven into their productions. It seems lately they are no longer subtle. It has become rather in your face. I found the gay kiss on my favorite show exactly that Thursday night. It was not necessary for the story line. Inferences had already been drawn the week before. Ok so what? The lady is a lesbian, let the show go on. But no, producers felt it necessary to more graphically portray the relationship. They lost me as a viewer. I will tolerate it as a fact in our society but I will not be subjected to a gratuitous in my face display of it. Likes and dislikes. I guess that’s why they invented an off button.

j

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Flash off

  1. Beth says:

    I never heard of this show, probably because on Thursday night at that time I watch The Mentalist on CBS. What you described is a common ocurrence on many shows on TV now.

  2. ROCKET says:

    Part of the reason I rarely watch TV anymore. Even with 250 channels to choose from on the sattelite dish you\’d really be mazed at how often there is nothing worth watching on the schedule. The networks turned me off long ago with the "reality" shows.

  3. john says:

    And the media wonders why they are losing revenue and viewers…..I have found some web sites where i can watch old movies and TV shows. 30 sec commercials they also have videoes. Not much on TV any more about the only real stuff is sports and that is sad at times. long live the book

  4. Glenys says:

    This show is showing here in Australia on Monday nights – because of the time slot I always forget about watching it … but the book also inspired Lost …As for lesbian kissing scenes … this has been in the news in Australia this year, especially since scenes like this has been featuring on teenage influenced tv programmes … Sometimes they go a bit too far but I think that they are only trying to bring realism into the show …Not everyone is acceptable towards homosexuality but it is a part of today\’s world that is openly discussed and not everyone approves but there are some people who have no problems with it. Several years ago, I watched Brokeback Mountain and I was very uncomfortable with the "love scenes" but overall it was a really good storyline … so sometimes you have to face what you don\’t like or what makes you feel uncomfortable to appreciate a good storyline … maybe this could be the same with Flash Forward …

  5. Michiko's says:

    I don\’t watch the TV much beause most time spent time in played golf and after that I\’am tired LOL!I like the documentary programs or a good movies.(Note Book) I enjoy very much, I means this type of movies:-)Homosexuality: I think it is very sad in the way that I have two son\’s "Thank God they are normal" I hope I was right said that?Have a great day.

  6. J says:

    j2Michiko, I understand completely. I feel the same about my children and I pray that my grand children will be normal as well. Golf, well I\’ll be! You go girl!

  7. ··¤ SETH says:

    I like many others, don\’t watch a lot of TV anymore. It is easy to see that television has drastically changed over the past few decades. Back when I Love Lucy, Dick Van Dyke, Lassie, Leave It To Beaver… etc., were popular (now I am really dating myself) the characters were not allowed to share a bed together. Any bedroom scene showed the typical twin beds with a nightstand in between the beds. The ladies on the show usually wore dresses and pearls, and the men were always elegantly dressed in suits and ties. Flash forward to today and you never know what you will see or hear on television. We didn\’t need parental guidance suggestions or parental locks on the channels back then. You weren\’t allowed to use profanity in the earlier years of television, yet now, it seems that almost anything goes. Even on some commercials you hear language that is questionable with young children in the room. I find myself turning the television off more often than not these days. I don\’t really feel like I am missing anything. I can get all the smutt I want from my computer… most can be downloaded for free… and I don\’t have to worry about my son seeing something he shouldn\’t till he\’s at least 15/16. – Bwahahaha!

Leave a Reply

