Deja vu all over again

Seeing Bill Clinton on the news this week with the current pres almost brought back fond memories. Here is one from the 1996 campaign year.

CAMPAIGN ’96

I want to be your President
elect me and I’ll lead                                                               
on to the Twenty first Century
and I do aim to please                
I’m gonna cut yo taxes
DSC02119
I’m gonna build a bridge
I’m gonna teach yo young folks
on them figgurin’ thang-ma-jigs                                     
I’m gonna feed the poor folks
and doctor everyone
and keep yo old folks rockin
in a fine retirement home
Listen up my fellow Americans
I’m gonna do it all
I want to be you’re president
and I have heard the call
Your taxes are too high
and the deficit is a shame
the rich are gettin’ richer
I know, I feel yo pain
I can be yo president
I know, I’m here to tell
I ain’t no cheatin’ husband
and I never did inhale

jrw ©09/12/1996

I shot that picture at a flea market just after the election in 2008. It was around Christmas time and the heady exuberance of this vendors booth was almost as if Santa had sprinkled joy dust without measure. What a season!

I came away with a couple of other flea market shots about that time. One we’ll call workaday Santa and the other we’ll call Santa Claus. Gee, I wonder which one is real?

              DSC02122

Ah, make believe! It kinda makes one long for the good ole days of Clinton. Naw.

Merry Christmas everyone and just remember, Uncle Sam ain’t Santa and President Obama is a one term president!

j

About jingeorgia

Searching high and low no matter where i go it always seems the same: shades of grey. Or, was that gray?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deja vu all over again

  1. Beth Marie says:

    I definitely did not approve of Clinton’s extra activities but I will say this; we were not trillions of dollars in debt under his watch.

  2. Enjoyed the Campaign promises speech thingy. Comical.
    Hope ya had a great time over the holidays J.
    Ciao Fer Now …

Leave a Reply

